Christmas’17 Haul

Greetings! The holiday season has begun. This is a time to embrace our loved ones, a time to spend time with family and friends, a time to spread the love by giving and receiving presents and a time to toast over a feast to good times. On this note, I hope you had a fabulous Christmas and received some wonderful bookish presents. I hope your presents were well received too.

To a bookworm, the best and the only gifts that deem fit are Books! I have been secretly dropping some easily decodable hints about the books I would be delighted to receive. Well, let’s just say I got five books which I had been wishing for. Having said that, let me unwrap my presents one by one.

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

IMG_20171228_155751-01

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a Nigerian author best known for Purple Hibiscus and Half of a Yellow Sun. Having read and absolutely loved Half of a Yellow Sun, I was exhilarated by the sight of an Adichie’s text.

  • Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

IMG_20171228_155721-01

Finding Rebecca in one of the presents was the highlight of my Christmas unwrapping. I have been drooling over this book for a very long time because honestly look at the cover! Being mystery fiction, this one is definitely going to be on top of my 2018 reading list.

  • The Trial by Franz Kafka

IMG_20171228_155951-01

This is a beautiful vintage edition of The Trial by Franz Kafka. I have heard great things about the unfinished book The Castle of Kafka so I am excited to read this one. Also, this is going to be my attempt to read more books of European Literature in the next year.

  • Lincoln in the Bardo by Goerge Saunders

IMG_20171228_155705-01

Christmas haul is incomplete without receiving the Man Booker Prize awardee book. Needless to say, why this book has been on my wishlist, I would go ahead in saying that I am thankful to my mom for giving me this. This is a beautiful Bloomsbury edition which is straight away going to be my first backlist book of 2018.

  • Kanthapura by Raja Rao

IMG_20171228_155934-01

A first-hand experience of the struggles of Mahatma Gandhi for India’s independence is a perfect present for someone who has studied about the independence movements closely. This is a beautiful Penguin edition by an author which is completely new to me so I am anticipating this to be an amazing read.

That’s all for today fellow book nerds. I am thankful to all those who took out time for finding these presents for me and to those who are reading about it. Let me know if you have read any of these books.

Happy (Holidayish) Reading!

2 thoughts on “Christmas’17 Haul

  1. Ahhh, what a lovely haul! I’ve found that despite my family and friends being aware of my fondness for books, I rarely ever receive any as gifts. :/ This year, I did get a copy of The Scandal by Fredrik Backman, which definitely looks intriguing and is next on my TBR list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 💕The Scandal sounds amazing. I couldn’t find it on Goodreads. What is it about? Also, I’m sure if you drop hints vigorously like I do, things might change. 😂

      Like

Leave a comment